Deferred disposition is a process in which the judge requires the defendant to adhere to certain conditions. If a defendant successfully complies with the conditions, the case will be dismissed. If the defendant does not comply with the terms of probation, a fine may be assessed and a conviction entered on their driving record.
To request Deferred Disposition for an offense, you must appear in person on or before your court date. You may contact the court clerk during regular business hours for more details, to determine if deferred is an option for your citation.
If you are under the age of 25 and receive a moving violation, you will be required to take a driving safety course as a condition of the deferred disposition per state law.
Driving Safety Course
Defendant may request a Driver Safety Course in PERSON or by MAIL.
If you have received a moving violation, you may be eligible to complete a driving safety course and have your violation dismissed. If you were operating a motorcycle and request to take a Driving Safety Course, you must take a motorcycle operator’s training course. The Court MUST approve your request prior to you taking the course. The DSC Affidavit Form and Driving Record Form are available at this website for your convenience. You may also obtain your Driving Record Online.
You are eligible to request this course if you meet the following conditions:
- You have not requested and/or taken a driving safety course in order to have a ticket dismissed in the preceding 12 months from the date of this offense;
- The offense did not occur in a construction zone when worker’s were present;
- You were not speeding 25 mph or more over the legal speed limit;
- You were not operating a commercial motor vehicle; and
- You did not pass a school bus while children were loading/unloading
To request to take the Drivers Safety Course you must:
- Present to the court a valid Texas driver's license (Commercial License holders may NOT take driving safety for dismissal of a violation.)
- Present to the court proof of Insurance (name must appear on policy)
- Plead guilty or nolo contendere; and
- Pay court costs and administration fee
You will have ninety (90) days within which to take the course and FILE WITH THE COURT A CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION AND A COPY OF YOUR DRIVING RECORD. The court will provide you with your completion date.
You are required to attend a driving safety course that has been approved by the Texas Education Agency or a motorcycle operator’s course approved by the Department of Public Safety.
If you do not take the course in the time required and/or fail to present the court with any of the required documents, the court will set you for a Show Cause hearing (please see below).
Show Cause Hearing
If you are granted Deferred Disposition and/or deferment pending completion of the Drivers Safety Course and fail to present the appropriate documents and/or complete the course in the time required, you will be notified to return to court and explain to the Judge why you failed to comply. You must be present at this hearing, failure to do so will result in a conviction, a fine being assessed, and a warrant for your arrest being issued.